top of page

NoParking Berry's Look Back at 2015

Last New Year's Eve, I presented a stunning little retrospective video featuring clips of my many videos from my first year as a Google/YouTube user. Made with the powerful PowerDirector software, it was a point where I grew the beard in my video making, because it's only natural for me to go beyond the simplistic stuff. If you're lazy to go over to YouTube, watch the video here.

In general, 2015 is the year that I've improved and gotten better than my first year as NoParking Berry. My top five personal favorite NoParking Berry videos of 2015 are perfect starter examples:

#5: Nicktoon Harlem Shake! (January 10)

#4: D.J.'s Cartoon Crash #1: "Wicked Game" (As Told by Ginger) (October 11-18)

My first gig as a Mr. Enter-like animation reviewer is a hit, bringing a total of over 300 views. Expect more in the future; next up, "The Cent of Money" from SpongeBob SquarePants (I'm giving ATBG a break for a while).

#3: Classic Logo Remake Party 2! (June 21)

Undeniably my most successful video on my channel, with over 16,360 views and counting, this was a big improvement from the first one. Sure, it's still Windows Movie Maker and Paint, but ignoring that, you can see in the animation frames how a little more effort was put into the sequel, thus making it a bigger hit than the first Classic Logo Remake Party!

#2: Happy 15th Anniversary, As Told by Ginger! (November 6)

The 15th anniversary of this underrated Nicktoon was my most anticipated anniversary to celebrate since Sesame Street's 45th anniversary in 2014, despite me enjoying Ginger less than Looney Tunes (85 years), the Muppets (60 years), and Toy Story (20 years). What's gonna be my next anniversary slideshow for 2016? Probably for The Fairly OddParents (15 years old). Though, I'm definitely doing a special video for the 25th anniversary of the Nicktoons in general. Speaking of which...

#1: My Photo Tribute to My Most Favorite Nicktoons of All Time! (Jan. 18)

BTW, I've changed up my top 12, recently. Avatar: The Last Airbender (my new #11) has kicked Sanjay and Craig off the top 12 list, The Angry Beavers is now #12, and As Told by Ginger is now #4, with CatDog being #5. You know what I just realized? Although the Nicktoons themselves officially started in 1991, this year actually marked the 25th anniversary of Nickelodeon Animation Studio's establishment. So, the timing of this awesome slideshow was perfect for such an occasion. For my 25th anniversary special for the Nicktoons themselves, I'll, appropriately enough, list my top 25 favorites. But, you know, opinions will always change at some point.

Honorable Mentions:

NoParking Berry's Holiday Wish

10 Leaping Facts About Lions!

D.J.'s Crude Little Pencil Test Collection!

D.J.'s Top 20 Favorite Cartoons: Third Edition

YouTube Poop: Psycho Ren Equals Psycho Night!

Really, there've been less videos I 've uploaded in 2015 than 2014, not that it's a terrible thing.

Beyond YouTube, this is the year where I've made some of my best pieces of art and graphic design I've ever uploaded. Examples, in no particular order:

My favorite As Told by Ginger fan on the internet; here's her blog: atbgreviewed.blogspot.com

And these aren't even including drawings that I've done on paper that I simply take a picture of with my camera, and fix up with Pixlr, in order to share it online. Don't worry, for those who love my paper work. With my brand-new, higher-quality Canon PowerShot digital camera, I'll upload more of that type of art.

Finally, another milestone of NoParking Berry in 2015 is...well...THIS WIX BLOG THAT YOU'RE NOW ON! Yes, I am so blessed with my opportunity to write down and expose my thoughts and abilities beyond Google+ since Ze Blog's launch on January 11, 2015. But, I have to admit, in just one year, it has gone through a little bit of changes. At first, it started out as a place for me to republish some Google+ posts, but by the time I published my promo post for My Big Fat Rant on Dodie Bishop!, it began to consisted of mostly exclusive posts. Another change that I've applied to my blogging is organization. Although Ze Blog started out as place for me to talk about literally anything I was interested in, I soon decided to make this focus more on whatever's related to my YouTube video "career", and any of my own creations, such as my BerryToon cartoon ideas, and my still-unpublished book, The Magic Muffin. Following this decision, I created the As Told by Ginger fan blog, Ginger Snaps, on March 22, so that's where I'm posting my stuff on the show from now on. And I got more spin-off blog ideas for next year and later down. One for my thoughts on and love for animation and Muppets, along with book reviews of the books on such subjects that I have. It can be called "D.J.'s Cartoony and Muppet-y Library". Also, with the video art tutorials put on hold, I'd like to create a blog with simple step-by-step-picture-and-text art tutorials. Then, I was thinking about starting one for my actual favorite Nicktoon, SpongeBob, pretty much in the same vein as Ginger Snaps. Finally, in the vein of As Told by Ginger: Reviewed! by Deebiedoobie, I might review every episode of the MASSIVELY underrated Baby Blues cartoon, which should be a piece of cake, since there are only 13 episodes of the entire series (ever aired at least).

I'm not promising that those blogs will ALL start in one year, but they're still possible in the future. Not to mention, since March, I've gotten less obsessive and worrysome with blogging frequently.

So...what more can I say about this year, which is about to obliterate in a few more hours? It was a big step for me. I'll be sure to remember 2015 as the year of these above-mentioned stuff. Thank you for your time, 2015. Thank you Berry much! Okay, so, what do I have in store for 2016? For one, my resolution is to get my Magic Muffin book published by the summer or fall (I've got about 24 more illustrations to complete with Pixlr, out of 55). As for the online part of showing off my skills, there's the aforementioned spin-off blog ideas and anniversary projects. Plus, some (not all) of my video ideas that were never done for 2015 might be ready in 2016, as well as some new ones. In general, I'd like to do less fan videos, and more of my original cartoon characters, the BerryToon posse. You've seen a sampling of them in animation through my pencil tests (e.g. Mr. Smiley, Jody, Joey & Sal, Funnyshoes, and Jill Moville), as well as Mr. Smiley speaking in my holiday wish (and I decided to officially label Dr. Sclera from The Eye Doctor is Your Friend! as a BerryToon as well), but I'm destined to do more. Not only do I want to make a short with Benny Dog, but I'm also really in love with the idea of Jody, Joey, & Sal having comical misadventures. Their first one will be called "Invasion of the Red Bees!" (exactly what it says in the title).

Finally, my two other resolutions include getting even better with what I love to do, and to share my tips and tricks on animating with Paint, which I've already started on.

It's gonna be a holly-jolly year, 2016! Goodbye, 2015! We'll miss you (reasons may vary)! HAPPY NEW YEAR, FOLKS! And thank you so much for enjoying my stuff this year!

© 2014-2015 by D.J. Berry. Proudly created with Wix.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page