top of page

Second "Magic Muffin" Front Cover, Plus Inside Covers!


Here it is! My second attempt at designing The Magic Muffin's book cover has been completed last night!

I was so happy when I finally got my cover art sketch colored on Pixlr Editor on the night before, using the

characters' and important props' color guides! It took me about a month on Paint to erase the dark spots of the uncolored pictures, after adding the threshold effect on Pixlr. So, the cover illustration went from this...

...to this...

...then this...

...then colored on Pixlr (before I could do that, though, I used the brush tool to fill in teeny-tiny gaps in the drawing)...

...finally, tonight, I added a slight overlay lighting with Pixlr Express.

Next, I redesign the book's cover at the top using FotoFlexer, and it was a success, as you can plainly see!

Last month, I thought that to make things easier for me in doing this book's graphic design myself, I decided to make The Magic Muffin's illustrations have no color whatsoever, giving young readers an opportunity to color the illustrations themselves (I call it a CIY book, "Color-It-Yourself"), because coloring books are so profitable, right? However, I was so excited about myself finishing the coloring of the front cover drawing that I thought, if it wasn't that hard to color the front cover drawing, then maybe I can be able to color all of the illustrations. The only flaw is that it'd be very time-consuming to fix up and color a single drawing without scanning it. So, if I do decide to color them, it might push The Magic Muffin back to 2016. We'll wait and see.

Also, on June 27, the inside covers of the books were designed by myself on Paint.

It was inspired by the inside covers of an old book I used to have, titled Detective Mole and the Halloween Mystery, which had several jack-o-lanterns in several rows, with the last one having the titular detective in it.

One page of my inside covers has rows of the Muffin itself, and the next ones has muffins that are blueberry, cranberry, carrot, chocolate chip, plain, and Magic! Bearnard's head winks at the bottom.

So far, designing for The Magic Muffin is coming along fine.

© 2014-2015 by D.J. Berry. Proudly created with Wix.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page