top of page

Sampling of Upcoming YouTube Videos

Well, I'm back from my vacation from updating Ze Blog. I know this was supposed to be posted during NoParking Berry's one-year anniversary celebration, but it got for reasons that I don't have time to explain here. Sorry that this has been sitting as a draft for so long.

Anyway, one of my New Year's resolutions for 2015 is to get better and better at video-making to gain a decent fanbase on the web. You know I am a proud artist, after all. And if the upcoming videos and ideas for the NoParking Berry YouTube channel come true, they should live up to this resolutions.

This is a section of videos that I'm still working on to debut sometime this year, with no exact deadline.

Paint! Yes, I enjoy experimenting with Paint in creating limited yet decent animations, from the scripted The Eye Doctor is Your Friend!, to the random Classic Logo Remake Party! and Nicktoons Harlem Shake!

Maybe someday, I'll somehow show you the secrets and tricks I use to make my creative limited animations. Okay, I'll tell you one thing: I use the transparent "Select" tool to move the characters and things around. Anyway, speaking of Classic Logo Remake Party, even before it became my most viewed video on the Tube, I been planning on a sequel consisting of more classic logos being remade. Classic Logo Remake Party 2! will be my next Paint animation to hit the Tube this spring. For more on this upcoming project, go to this older blog post.

Probably the only things I love the most about MADtv (and one of my favorite things on MAD: The Animated Series) are the Spy vs. Spy cartoons, first done by Klasky Csupo, and then over to Rough Draft Studios (the people behind Futurama). The gags that the Black Spy and the White Spy play on each other are oh so clever! They've inspired me to create my own Spy vs. Spy short; it's been an idea in my head since around 2013. Now, with my unlocked ability in making Paint animated cartoons, it's finally coming true. I won't spoil what's going to happen in the short, but I can tell you that it involves a pie. Here's a sneak peek frame:

I may have mention before that the other fan animation project I've decided to create is for the 15th anniversary of...wait for it...wait for it...

Yes! I've been shoving As Told by Ginger down your throats a lot lately, but for good reasons. Even though there are still episodes I haven't check out yet. this great yet underrated Nicktoon has become one of my all time favorite animated series, to the point where its 15th anniversary will feel like my own birthday to me. I can't wait to celebrate it on the last full weekend of October (it debuted on October 25, 2000)!

Right now, planning and preparing for a special video for the ocassion. Following a simple

slideshow with pictures of the show, the main attraction will ensue. It will be a colorful, flashy, dance-party-type thing with the characters drawn in my own drawing style (thus, they'll look a little cuter).

And yes, it basically will be that fan art above being brought to life, because since Ginger, Macie, and the big-mouthed one were drawn seperate from each other prior to compositing, they can be used like animation cels for the video. I'm thinking about having Ginger and the gang happily move to the instrumental version of Nicki Minaj's Super Bass. Sounds appropriate, doesn't it? Early anniversary wishes, Ginger!

Another Paint animated short in production will feature a character of my own I've created a few years ago. He's one of my many, many BerryToons characters; his name is Benny Dog. His schtick is that he is a laid-back, cereal-obsessed mutt who's seeking a perfect owner. Yeah, he's basically my clone of the hilarious yet underrated Looney Tunes character Charlie Dog, who only appeared in five shorts by Chuck Jones (the first three co-starring Porky Pig). Anyway, Benny Dog Love His Cereal! is the name of my next scripted cartoon short, and I promise it will be hilarious, ignoring the cheap animation style. Due to my focus on a few other things (i.e. My Big Fat Rant on Dodie Bishop!, other videos, this very blog, etc.), its script (which I started in January) has yet to be completed, so don't expect it too soon.

Last August, I had the enthusiam to try practicing and experimenting in making pencil animation. I've spent hours upstairs drawing on halves of 279 mm X 432 mm white printing paper, completing seven brief pencil tests, with Dodie Bishop Gets Her Just Desserts! being one of them. How I make these experiments was that after I draw all the frames I need, I'd take a picture of each frame with my LG Android phone camera, email the frames, download them, and bring the cartoon to life through Windows Movie Maker. The other five pencil tests. which were made earlier than the Dodie one, weren't exported yet, because at first, I didn't exactly thought about releasing them publicly. Now, I'm working on a compilation of little pencil tests to be uploaded to YouTube this summer. The tests I've completed so far include:

An anvil falling on a cat's tail (my first real pencil test)

A curious pencil meeting an apple

A storm cloud

A cat walk cycle

A dog exclaiming "Ha!"

Stan Smith from American Dad! expressing his dislike for Francine's coffee

Here's a frame from the cat/anvil one:

A project I've been procrastinating on is my second animatic short (after Maxwell and Marty in "Adventure!"), Phobic Phoebe. It's about a woman who has a phobia for everything...and that's about it. Since 2014, the script has been written (though I might have to edit it), and the drawings were drawn, but then...I just stopped. Unlike Maxwell and Marty, which I kept on working on for five months straight, I stopped working on Phobic Phoebe. Either it's because of my own laziness, or I'm waiting to get a new HD camera for taking the pictures with, as my iPad Mini (whose camera I used for Maxwell and Marty) has been mostly occupied...then it got broken. So, Phobic Phoebe is on hold until all camera-related problems are settled. And I don't really wanna use my phone camera for this thing, but that doesn't mean I can't use it to give you a sampling of the short's characters:

Finally, due to my love for The Mysterious Mr. Enter, I've been influenced to do a video review of my least favorite episode of As Told by Ginger, "Wicked Game". *sigh* Emily Kapnek (creator of Ginger) really should be ashamed of herself of writing that horrible tale of betrayal and jealousy! You know what I think? Emily probably just agreed to write the episode just so she'd have an excuse to include her pointless character she voices, Noelle Sussman. You know how Mr. Lawerence writes most of the SpongeBob episodes starring Plankton, regardless of how crappy the story will be (as in "One Coarse Meal")? It's kind of the same thing with Emily and Noelle. Emily didn't seem to care about how horrendous Dodie was going to be, she just wanted to give Noelle some screentime! Okay, so maybe that isn't the case. But I'm still disappointed in Ms. Kapnek, as well as the guy who directed "Wicked Game", Ron Noble! Seriously, why?!

Anyway, for more details, visit this Ginger Snaps blog post.

And that's all for now with my upcoming video announcements! Some other time I'll share my video ideas I haven't exactly started work on. See you next time when I wish Looney Tunes a happy 85th anniversary!

© 2014-2015 by D.J. Berry. Proudly created with Wix.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page