top of page

"The Magic Muffin"'s Prototypical Book Cover


The Magic Muffin is still expecting its 2015 debut, though it's now been scheduled for a fall release instead of the spring. Right now, since April, I've slowly working on the book's graphic design, particularly for the front cover art. However, I'm not too sure if I have all the right things I need to get the look I envisioned. I've been trying out different graphic design/photo editing softwares online to experiment in making the cover (maybe soon I'll try out Adobe Photoshop), such as Canva (where I'm making a Kindle book cover), Pixlr, and DIY Book Covers. The last two are the exact sites I used to make this prototypical cover art oon May 25, 2015. The sketch on the front, featuring the main characters and the titular muffin, was drawn on March 28, 2015. Since I didn't have a scanner, I took a high-dimension photo of the illustration with a Samsung Galxay phone I borrowed.

Then on May 25, I made the picture look fancy through Pixlr Express, by adding effects and overlays.

The logo was designed by myself seperately on Paint on April 25.

Both the sketch and logo were then insert on a purple background using DIY Book Covers.

The glowing effect on the logo and drawing was done with the eraser tool. Finally, I typed in my name.

Given that I'm an artist, I've decided to try and do the graphic design for my book myself, instead of having to pay someone to do it for me. However, it's not as easy for me as you may think. And I'm still messing around on those types of sites just to get the look I want. Somehow, these drawings may be scanned and colored. I'll see. I'm also waiting for to get T-shirts made to promote The Magic Muffin. In 2014, I made the prototypical designs on Paint. The first one (drawn Sept. 18) is of the main hero, Bearnard...

...and the last one is of the main antagionist, Rubik.

© 2014-2015 by D.J. Berry. Proudly created with Wix.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page