top of page

Happy Birthday, Macie!

In addition to Earth Day being here today, it's the birthday (as revealed in the season two episode "Family Therapy") of my second favorite As Told by Ginger character, next to Ginger herself!

Oh, boy, what can I say about this lovably dorky, yet surprisngly confident geek? Well, I may have mentioned this before, but it's hard to deny that Macie Lightfoot is basically a preteen/teenage girl version of Chuckie Finster from Rugrats (kinda like how I thought Dodie was similar to Angelica, only more obvious). Besides obviously sharing the same glasses and buck teeth, they both have nasally voices, and more importantly, they're both neurotic, shy, awkward, yet still have their moments of self-confidence. For Macie, the most famous thing she has ever done on the show was when she nailed her talent show performance as the Little Seal Girl!

Wow! Just...wow. This might as well be my most favorite moment from season one besides Ginger reading her poem, "Hello Stranger"! I'm so proud of this awesome girl, and there's no doubt that you were proud of her, too, fellow fans! As you saw in the video above, Macie started off shyly, then all the sudden, she let her inner talent and enthusiasm go! She made performing in front of the whole town look easy, didn't she? Congrats, Macie! Are you a great role model or what?

There are two more things I love about Macie; one is that she is so gosh dang funny! If Courtney isn't the funniest character in Sheltered Shrubs, than Macie mostly definitely is! Pretty much lines she says is worth chuckling at to some extent. Macie is a bit of an awkward snarker. It helps that she has that nasally voice caused by her single nostril. Here is a sampling of funny quotes from her:

"So sweet it could turn me diabetic. Knock wood." ("Far From Home, Part One")

"An interest yielding IRA account linked with free checking. It's what every girl wants...on the inside." ("Ginger the Juvy")

"[after finding a girl and boy making out in her living room] Shame on you, Riker Smith! Your mother teaches Sunday School!" ("The Right Stuff")

"I only read it [Knowing Your Hamster] for the articles." ("Kiss and Make-up")

"I'll forever be haunted by the sounds of cramping." ("Gym Class Confidential")

Okay, maybe that last quote is debateably funny, but whatever.

The other thing I like about her is how cute she is. Not as cute as Ginger, but, in my opinion at least, she's much cuter than Dodie (at least Macie doesn't have a big mouth). Just look at her!

Wolf-whistle! Yes, I especially think she's hot without her glasses! Who wouldn't? And here's some sexy fan art by Deviantart user sixteen6stars:

Yeah, I had to blur out a bit of the naughty parts. It's one of those pieces of art that...*ahem* matures the character.

For some more G-rated material, here's a sneak peek frame I drew for my upcoming As Told by Ginger 15th anniversary animation:

Macie Lightfoot is celebratory. Happy birthday! And many more!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page