top of page

Potential "Ginger" Fanfic of Mine

Welcome to the first blog post exclusive to this new As Told by Ginger fan blog of mine!

Last December, as my Ginger obsession was increasing, I Googled the show, and decided to check out

the ATBG FanFiction page. While browsing, there was one fanfic I fell in love with instantly: Dodie's Makeover, by Jade Featherstone. The story is that Dodie gets a free makeover from the one and only Courtney Gripling, supposedly becomes prettier than she actually was (though if I'd make Dodie prettier, I'd shrink that big mouth of hers), and finally gets the popularity she desired. She was even given a spot on the pep squad. Hooray. My favorite part happened in the second chapter. Ginger, fed up with Dodie's new narcissium, calls her out on how crappy of a friend she has been before, even bringing up the infamous events of "Wicked Game". Okay, so if Ginger knew how horrendous Dodie's betrayal with Miranda and Mipsy was, why the frig didn't she officially call it quits with that sort-of-friendship? Why am I asking that like it's an actual episode, when it's only a fan's story?

Anyway, I really enjoyed Dodie's Makeover; Jade Featherstone must have been studying the show hard, because her great story got me into imagining it as an actual episode as I read it. It started a little obsession of mine reading Ginger fanfics, some were good, others I checked out were kinda crappy! Other favorite Ginger fanfics I enjoyed reading included The Wedding Frame: The True Ending, Understanding, The Old Foutley House, A Cafeteria Mystery, and...*sigh*, The Grass is Greener on the Other Side (which is probably a weaker, more blatant shipping between Ginger and Courtney compared to Understanding).

Checking out all these stories crafted by fellow fans was what got me kinda into fan fiction in general, and had influenced me to possibly write a fanfic of my own. First, I thought that my first ATBG fanfic would have Courtney coming out of the closet at school, then tries to hit on Ginger. But then I thought, Understanding and The Grass is Greener on the Other Side already did good with the whole "Courtney gay for Ginger" thing. If I were to write my own "lesbian Courtney" fic, it might be seen as nothing too revolutionary.

So, the fanfic idea that I would like to bring out is about something that hasn't been done before on FanFiction apparently: the renouncement of Ginger and Dodie's sort-of-friendship! I've been developing the story in my head for a couple of months now since reading Dodie's Makeover. This potential Ginger fanfic of mine could be titled Memories in Jeopardy.

This is fan art I made on Paint last Friday especially for this blog post!

The story will take place after the events of the series finale. Lois and Dr. Dave are married, the Foutley/Dave family have moved into their new house, but the sort-of-friendship between Ginger and Bishop remains untouched...until now!

So, here's the plot I came up with: It's the anniversary of the establishment of Ginger, Dodie, and Macie's friendship, so of course, those three amigos treat it as an important milestone in their respective lives. I'm thinking about including a moment of foreshadowing for the highlight that's to come; it may or may not involve Courtney and Miranda, the latter is also a witch who I can't believe has any nice girl for a friend. Anyway, the main trio agree to commemorate their long-time friendship at Ginger's place, having some typical teen girl fun, and prominently recaping on the good times they had. However, the fun soon ends when the highlight of the story ensues! Ginger and Dodie get into an argument, which culminates into Ginger having an epiphany of sorts, realizing how bad of a friend Bishop really is! She gives her a big "Reason You Suck Speech", and then, just like that, Ginger and Macie's friendship with that traitor is finally and officially renounced, much to her horror!

So, Bishop rides home on her bike, completely crestfallen and shocked over her precious friendship coming to an end like that. And then, without thinking, she rides in the middle of the road! BOOM!

She gets hit by Lois and Dr. Dave's car; she didn't die, though, just in a little coma from her injuries in the head and limbs. Of course, Dodie's witch mother Joann freaks out to the news about her daughter's accident. But, Lois ensures her that Dodie will be fine, once she enters the hospital.

Meanwhile, Ginger was at the state where she doesn't care at all if anything were to happen to her former best friend! Yeah, she's really deep in not having anything to do with Bishop. So, with her out of the picture, Ginger goes to good ol' Courtney to express appreciation for Courtney being a more loyal friend than Bishop! With that, Courtney officially replaces Dodie Bishop as the blonde BFF in the Ginger trio, much to her delight! But soon, Lois convinces her daughter to visit her injured former "BFF", in hope that their closeness will reconcile, which isn't what Ginger wanted.

Will all of this be permanent? Will Ginger turn a new leaf for that little whore? Will the Ginger trio become a Ginger quartet? Find out once I start writting the fanfic, and posting it on this blog chapter by chapter, whenever I have the time to. Though to be honest, sometimes I think fanfic writting might be a waste of time for me, because I'm not writting about characters of my own. So, my own stories with my own characters (i.e. The Magic Muffin) are what I really need to spend my time on! But, there's still a chance of an As Told by Ginger story of mine in the future.

What's your favorite fanfic?

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page